“Mommy, I Have a Problem”


Today I got the message no parent wants to get.

“Mrs. Lewis, this is Ms. Principal. I’m calling because Dash was unfortunately the target of some teasing today at school. Some boys were chasing him and I think we’ve nipped it in the bud. We spoke to each of the boys involved, and they each gave Dash an apology. We contacted each of their parents. I think it is safe to say it won’t happen again.”

When Dash got home, I asked him how his day went.

“Good!” He says. “I’m doing good at school this year!”

I probe, “Did you have fun on the playground today?”

“Yes!”

“Did you play with any of the other kids?”

“Um, Mommy, I have a problem. Some of the kids were chasing me on the playground and I didn’t like it.”

“Was there a grown up there?”

“Yes.”

“What did she do?”

Dash points his finger, bends over a bit as if talking to a small child and says, “You! Sit on the bench!” He points again, “You, sit on the bench!” He does this 4 times. There were 4 boys.

He was so amazing in his retelling of the story of what happened.  I love the way he relayed what happened not only with words, but also with acting it out.  (I’m pretty sure we’ll be hearing a lot of  “You!  Sit on the bench!” when he is upset with a sibling!)

The part that really stuck out to me though, was the way he said, “Mommy, I have a problem.”  I knew what had happened but I loved hearing him tell me every detail that he offered.  I love the way he said it, loaded with expressions, pronoun reversals and all. It was precious.

I thought at that moment, that God is the same way. He just loves us to sit with him and tell him what happened even though He already knows.  He probably gets a chuckle out of our perspective on things.  We may not reverse our pronouns, but we probably reverse reality quite a bit.  And I’m sure that reversals and all, it is precious to Him when we say, “God, I have a problem…”

Matthew 11:28-30  “Come to me, all of you who are weary and over-burdened, and I will give you rest! Put on my yoke and learn from me. For I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

5 Comments

  1. May 4, 2012 at 10:02 AM

    Great it was noticed by the adults on site. Hope it ends soon!

    • Merri Lewis said,

      May 4, 2012 at 10:04 AM

      It is great it was noticed and they jumped on it. I hope it is over, too!

  2. alienhippy said,

    May 18, 2012 at 3:35 PM

    You know my lovely friend, I do think God has a giggle.
    I think He has a wonderful sense of humour.
    I LOVE how you told this story of your lovely boy, I had the whole film running in my head Merri. I hope they have nipped it in the bud.
    Love to you and your lovely family.
    Lees. xxx 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      May 23, 2012 at 5:40 AM

      Thank you Lisa! I agree, God does have a giggle 🙂 So far, so good…no more bullying!

    • Merri Lewis said,

      May 23, 2012 at 5:42 AM

      Thank you Lisa! I agree that God must giggle too 🙂 So far, so good. No more bullying!


