Playing Hide and Seek

Where's Princess Buttercup?

For the second time today, I lost Sketch. (Note:  this was written a few weeks ago)

But, before I go into that story, let me give you some background information.

There has been a bit of a theme around here, with the game Hide-And-Seek. The other day, the twins Dash and Princess Buttercup were playing this game together in the basement.  It was so fun to watch them play and hear them laugh together…well, until Princess comes out crying because Dash stopped looking for her and she was waiting in her hiding place for quite a while.  He got distracted by something he suddenly considered to be more fun. Oh, the joys of ADHD along with the lack of awareness of social rules or how his behavior effects others!

For those of you who are new to this blog, let me introduce to you the cast of characters: Sketch is our 6 years old boy, with autism/adhd/anxiety.  Dash & Princess Buttercup are 9 year old twins. Dash also has autism/adhd, and Polkadot, is our 6 month old baby girl.

Back to today. The first time Sketch went missing was at church when he wandered off after Sunday School.  In his mind, he followed the rules. The teacher told him, “You need to stay in this room until your parents come.”  And, he did.  And when we got there, he left…sigh… At least he was found (after much heart pounding) and he was very much ok.  He looked up at me with a smirk and said, “Hide-And-Seek?”

Sketch must have been noticing what the other kids in Sunday School were doing, because another child was also “missing” today.  It turned out that she was playing Hide-And-Seek but her mom was not aware of this.  As her mom and the Sunday School teachers looked for her, Dash was pointing to the hiding place saying, “She’s in here!” but ironically, no one listened to him.

Fast forward to later on this afternoon. Sketch went missing again!  When I realized it was very quiet in the house, I called out to Mr. Incredible who was laying on the couch, “Where’s Sketch?”  Off in the not-so-distant bedroom came his cute little voice under his bright red and green VeggieTales comforter, “Here I am!”  (This is the first time he’s ever answered that unprompted!)

This morning, as we drove to church, we drove by another church with a sign displaying 2 Chronicles 15:2 “If you seek Him, He will be found by you”.

Seems like God likes to play Hide-And-Seek as well.  Problem is… sometimes we aren’t seeking…or maybe we were and we got distracted by something that seems to be more interesting.  Or, maybe we are seeking but like so often happens, we can’t see what’s right before our eyes until somebody else calls our attention to it saying, “Here He is!  He’s in here!”

The nice thing about Hide-And-Seek with God is that He will always be found by you.  If call for him, he will answer “Here I am” just like Sketch did this afternoon.

The question is, are we listening?

Here I am!

Jeremiah 29:13-14: You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the LORD,“and will bring you back from captivity.

8 Comments

  1. alienhippy said,

    March 4, 2012 at 4:10 PM

    Great post,
    I love hide and seek, I have some funny stories about hide and seek. 🙂
    I should write a post about the things I did playing hide and seek.
    I’ll share one with you here…
    At my one friends house, she was an only child, and had EVERYTHING!
    I used to ask if I could be on, then while they were all hiding I had her bedroom to myself and ALL her wonderful toys. giggle.

    I love that God always finds me in my shutdowns and gives me a way to climb out. God is so good!
    Love you Merri. xxx 🙂

    • alienhippy said,

      March 4, 2012 at 4:10 PM

      Oh…and the photos are BEAUTIFUL!!! 🙂

      • Merri Lewis said,

        March 4, 2012 at 5:59 PM

        Thank you, Lisa. That picture is of the Princess when she was 7 months old…the same age Polkadot is today 🙂 They look a lot alike!

    • Merri Lewis said,

      March 4, 2012 at 6:00 PM

      That is too funny! You should write a post with the stories. That sounds like a fun blog!

      God is good 🙂 He’s good at finding us as well as being found 🙂

  2. alienhippy said,

    March 4, 2012 at 6:01 PM

    Wow Merri, I thought it was Polkadot. I didn’t see the date.
    They look very much alike. 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      March 4, 2012 at 6:04 PM

      Tee hee 🙂 I love having “twins” twice, once 9 years apart. They are so much fun!

      • alienhippy said,

        March 4, 2012 at 6:05 PM

        🙂 you are so lovely, you make me giggle. xxx 🙂

  3. WonderfullyFi said,

    March 5, 2012 at 8:34 PM

    As always….a wonderful post Merri, I think that it’s true that often it feels like God is playing hide and seek with us, but I have to remind myself that he says: Never will i forsake you…. 🙂


