On The First Day of Winter My True Love Gave To Me…

Today it happened again.  Either these boys have inside knowledge about the weather, or Someone out there really loves them a lot and wants to make them happy!

It was Sketch this morning, who came out from his room, looked at the window with the ketcup-stained curtains still pulled closed, and asked, “Snow?”

I opened the curtain and looked outside, but there was no snow.

“Snow?” he asks again.

“Not today, Sketch.” I confidently reply, since I’d already checked the weather forecast.

No more than 5 minutes later a fluttering flake catches my eye.  Then another, and another.  “Sketch, look outside! It’s snowing!”

Rewind to nine days earlier, on the first day of Winter.  Dash comes downstairs and wanted to look outside.

“It’s the first day of Winter! We get snow!” he looks out the window, “Where’s the snow?”

I told him there is no snow today but that we’re supposed to get snow on Christmas. He was disappointed and left the kitchen. Then, I look out the window and wouldn’t you know, there was SNOW!

God really does care about the little things… really enjoys giving his loved ones things to make them happy.

I almost titled this post something like:  But What About the Stink?

Why, you ask?  Well, let me tell you…

I started this post weeks ago, well before the first day of Winter. I was having a Really-Bad-Day because things were going downhill quick in regards to our in-home supports.  Each boy was approved for 18 hours and we were using most of them.  But, big problems were getting worse and on this day, I knew it was over.  Our supports would yet again, be yanked out from underneath us.  The hardest part is that the boys were both attached to the staff we had, and we’d have to try to explain to them why they weren’t coming anymore, and the reason for this was not a reason a 6 and 9 year old should know.

It was a Tuesday when this all was going down. I was so worried about this, along with the other ramifications of  loosing 32 hours of help a week when I needed it more than ever.  Regardless,  I drive to the church for Ladies Bible Study:  Beth Moore’s “Believing God”.  I walked in to the study distracted and upset by all that was going on.  Funny… it really seems little compared to the other recent trials like job losses, health insurance loss and Rheumatoid Arthritis making it’s presence known.  God sure had taken care of all those “big” problems, in really BIG ways, too!

After missing the first part of Beth’s talk due to worry, I start to tune in to what Beth Moore was saying, and she was talking about what Martha was worried about with Lazarus.  Martha didn’t worry about if  Jesus could take care of the big problem of raising Lazarus from the dead. Instead, Martha worried because Lazarus had been in the tomb for 4 days and he may stink!     “But, Lord,” said Martha, the sister of the dead man, “by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.” Luke 11:39  (I love Beth Moore, I don’t think I would have ever picked up on that line on my own!)

And it is so true, that we often believe God for the big problems, but think He is too busy for the stinky little ones, or we think they don’t matter to God.  Neither are true.

God does care about the seemingly little things. He has taken care of the boys emotions regarding the sudden loss of staff.  He’s taken care of us during our loss of help too.  And, He even took care of the boys desire to see snow on the first day of Winter!

Philippians 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

What little things has God done for you?   Please add you experience and encouragement to this post with your comments!

Recommended Readings:

The Colors of Space in the Craziness of Time

Muller Moments

Struck Down But Not Destroyed

2 Comments

  1. Fi (Wonderfully Wired Mum) said,

    December 31, 2011 at 1:01 AM

    Yay for snow!

  2. Merri Lewis said,

    December 31, 2011 at 10:09 AM

    I LOVE snow Fi, but ironically, up here in Maine, people get so upset about it and love the 100 degree weather instead…sigh…


