The Writing’s On The Walls

Sketch told me the words to write, and where to place them. Then he added his own words and drew the frame.

This is my first post written from a special guest, Kay Lutsky!  Kay has been a friend of mine for over 23 years.  We now live many states apart, but keep in touch via facebook, which is where this post originates. I had posted the picture above in an album called The Chalkboard Kid.  Sketch (age 6, with autism/adhd)  has taken to writing on his walls with chalk, and often he will write the lyrics to his favorite songs.  When Kay saw this, this was her response:

I guess I should start with how this all started. Merri posted a picture of what is on the walls of  Sketch’s room. It really touched my heart, and the more I thought about what he wrote, the more I was blown away.

I know that what he wrote was actually lyrics to a song, I think by Chris Tomlin, but at first glance it appears to me that these words are written as a note to Sketch from God. God telling Sketch that he, Sketch, is beautiful. That to God, Sketch is a treasure and God has plans for him. Wow! Talk about positive reinforcement! I think we ALL need to have this written on our walls where we can see it day and night and remember that we really do mean that much to our Heavenly Father.

Then it struck me, Sketch’s walls are covered with these lyrics, these messages from and about our loving God and Savior. These words of God…(warning track jump)…This young man literally rests surrounded by the word of God, every night. This is where my mind got blown away. I mean literally and figuratively this little guy has got it right, don’t ya think? Here I am 40-something years old and I still have a hard time with the concept of rest, and I can’t begin to fathom how to rest in God. Yet, it’s so simple. We just need to surround ourselves with Him and trust what He says.

Every where we look we need to search for Him. We need to surround ourselves with His Words, not our own. We need to surround ourselves with music about Him, not worldly things. We need to talk about Him, not hide Him in our hearts. We need to talk to Him. We need to listen to Him and learn about Him from His Word. It always comes back to His Word. It is powerful and provides the (to borrow from my preacher dude’s sermon) “guard rails” in our lives. When we know His Word it helps us know which paths are righteous (check out Proverbs), and lead to life (good things) and not destruction (really bad things). How did I miss it before?

My family and I will have to move soon. My two teenagers think that Sketch is really “cool” for having chalkboard walls, and now they want them too. Wouldn’t it be so incredibly great to grow up surrounded with His promises on our walls? I wonder what difference it would make in my children’s confidence levels, and their relationship with God? If our landlord says “yes,” I think I’ll help them paint.

Thank you Kay for sharing this with us! It reminds me of Deuteronomy 6:6-9
“These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.”

Sketch wrote all these lyrics himself, to Chris Tomlins "I Lift My Hands"

Sketch's favorite verse.

4 Comments

  1. Fi (Wonderfully Wired Mum) said,

    November 5, 2011 at 12:44 AM

    I LOVE this!!!

    • Merri Lewis said,

      November 6, 2011 at 10:41 PM

      Thanks Fi, I love it too!

  2. alienhippy said,

    November 5, 2011 at 7:03 PM

    Wonderful post my friend, loved reading it!
    REST…this keeps coming to me, RESTING in His word.
    I wrote a post a few day ago called
    “Uncluttered…What are you doing here?”
    Part of this post was from a study I did in 1 Kings 19.
    In this chapter Elijah has a pattern,
    God seems to be pointing this out to me a lot lately.
    Rest
    Refreshment
    Rest
    Refreshment
    Reflection
    Response
    Reflection
    Redirection
    Reinforcement
    It’s how God built Elijah up…I’m pondering LOADS on this lately and this post has just brought it back again in my Aspie tangents….hehehe
    Sorry for the babble….you KNOW I have to babble.
    Love you Merri. xxx 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      November 6, 2011 at 10:43 PM

      I love your babble LOL! I like what you’re learning about Elijah!


