Day And Night


The other day, I was tucking Dash into bed…not an easy task on most nights, as he is prone to functioning on very little sleep.

But this night, he was actually a bit drowsy, and was willingly stayed snuggled under his weighted blanket.

He had his eyes closed, but he was squinting at the same time, as if he were trying to read something far away, but with the lids shut tight.

He was concentrating on the view-master in his memory… trying to read the instructions off the computer screen he’d looked at all day long…trying to read the instructions on how to build the long sought after K’nex Motorized Madness Ball Machine.

Day and night.

This child, now age 8, was memorizing the instructions to a contraption he did not own. Committing it to memory, for that day…

That day when he might just have that contraption in his hot little hands…

I was struck by how incredible his memory was, how he knew what step number went with each task… details.

It reminded me of the instructions to the Israelites:

Joshua 1:8 “Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

I wonder…

What would happen if we took that exhortation to heart.

Put it in our hearts…that when the day comes, the one we may not wish for…we would know what to do.

The day we do wish for… we would remember to give praise to the Giver.

The day we never expected…we would remember that God has a plan for that one too.

I wonder how many of those not-so-good days would never have occurred in the first place,

and how much greater the good days would turn out to be.

Psalm 119:24  “Your statutes are my delight; they are my counselors.”

4 Comments

  1. Alienhippy said,

    March 30, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    Wonderful post as always my friend, isn’t Dash a clever lad!!!
    It is SO VERY true, if we all just put our Heavenly Father’s words to memory and to practise how different each day could be.
    Thank you for the prompt, perhaps I should direct my Aspie mind a little more into God and a little less on myself.
    Love and hugs Merri. xxx 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      March 30, 2011 at 9:20 PM

      You are welcome! I think we all need that prompt 🙂 Our culture is so different now, it’s hard to imagine writing His Word on the door frames, gates, etc. to be a constant reminder.

  2. asdmommy said,

    March 31, 2011 at 8:33 AM

    I just saw your response to Pancake’s food post, and had to come find you. You just started SOS? We did that too for years – actually saw Kay Toomey in Denver and started with her, blessedly. Feel free to track me down if you want to chat with someone who has been there…

    Love the memorizing of the instructions…my guy does that too…their brains are amazin!

    asdmommy.wordpress.com

    • Merri Lewis said,

      March 31, 2011 at 8:58 AM

      I’d LOVE to hear what you think of the SOS program. We did it briefly when my little guy was 2, but then our early intervention here said they would no longer cover it…figures! Now he is 5, almost 6, and has even less foods in his diet than he did at 2. I am really hoping he’ll be receptive to this. I’d love to have been able to actually see Kay Toomey!! I’ll send you an email–thanks for finding me!


