Empower Me, Revised

This is a mini post…a down payment on the one to come, about perseverance.  (Ironically, I haven’t been able to finish the one on perseverance…I guess procrastination will come after that!)

I wrote this poem years ago and recently tweaked it to reflect more of what I’ve learned along this journey.

I hope it encourages you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Empower Me

Empower me, Oh holy God
To run the race, the one you called
To forget the past, made wiser from sin
To run to the finish line
Where life begins

Empower me while running the race
To go full force ahead and to rest in your grace
To keep my eyes focused, always on the goal
To win the greatest prize
One more precious than gold.

Empower me to train and gain
All the wisdom for running the race
To jump all the hurdles
And run at your pace
To strive and strain every day
To live and think, and learn and love
To wholeheartedly serve you
Oh Holy God!
And win the prize you’ve set above!

Empower me, Oh Holy God!

7 Comments

  1. Alienhippy said,

    February 1, 2011 at 4:09 PM

    What a wonderful poem Merri,
    AND…JUST what I needed to read today thank you.
    It always amazes me that we end up with relevant scripture, to poem.
    I was reading 1 Corinthians 9 today, verses 24-27 really stand out here.
    God has such a sense of humour doesn’t He!
    He really does make me giggle, and then think WOW!!!!
    That’s JUST SO INTENSE….lol
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx 🙂

  2. Merri Lewis said,

    February 1, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    Thank you Lisa! That is so funny!!! We are totally in a small world, no matter how many miles and countries and continents we are apart!

  3. Alienhippy said,

    February 1, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    I know, God is just SO HUGE!!!!
    And…Totally AMAZING!! 🙂

  4. fiona2107 said,

    February 2, 2011 at 7:54 PM

    Merri….you simply take my breath away!

    That.was.awesome!

    You have a real God-given gift.

    blessings
    Fi xx

  5. Merri Lewis said,

    February 2, 2011 at 9:53 PM

    Thank you Fi, I am so glad it spoke to you 🙂 It must have been 1997 when I first wrote it, but it needed a little tweaking as time went on.

  6. February 5, 2011 at 7:43 AM

    […] This verse along with Hebrew 12, was the inspiration behind the poem I posted the other day, as a “downpayment” for this post.  To view the poem, click on the link: Empower Me […]

  7. September 21, 2012 at 10:55 PM

    […] This verse along with Hebrew 12, was the inspiration behind the poem I posted the other day, as a “downpayment” for this post.  To view the poem, click on the link: Empower Me […]


