Unauthorized Paint

The other morning Dash was on one of his missions to destroy…in his quiet impulsive way so you don’t know what happened for a while after the deeds are done.

Quick like  a bunny hopping in the snow, he went went from thing to thing…first it was coloring in Princess Buttercups new Make Your Own Calendar, then he did that again… then he “smartly” moved on to fiddling with the buttons on my new teapot–took a while to figure out what those beeps were from!  And then…I noticed the paint.

Yes, the paint.  I sat down to look at my “art work” from the night before, and saw that he had gone in my drawer attached to my new easel and got a new tube of red paint… opened it and squeezed a big spiral right in the middle of my cobalt blue masterpiece!!!  Ok, it really was my first attempt at watercolors, and I was trying to practice different techniques I had read about, but boy did that infuriate me!!!  After all, I created that “imperfect work becoming art” piece!

While Dash was in time out, and I was trying to finish getting ready for church, I continued stewing over this.  It is so frustrating!  He had no right to ruin my creation like that.

And you know, I truly believe that God feels that way too… when someone “messes up” or mistreats one of His creations, His work of art…one of his children.  He hurts for us when we are mistreated–when someone markes up His masterpiece!

Often, at the time when we, or a loved one, are mistreated in some way, we don’t think of Him that way.  Maybe he seems distant or uncaring…after all, he DID allow it to happen, he could have stopped it, right?

Well, maybe, but one thing I do know and want to focus on is that He is not uncaring.  I mean, we just celebrated Christmas, the birth of Christ, The Savior entering into the world as flesh and  blood!  God sent his only son as a baby to save the world, because of His love for us. And because he sent him as a newly conceived baby, Jesus lived his entire life here.

He experienced everything we do, so that he could sympathise with us… or more to the point, so that we would KNOW he has been there, done that, had that happen to Him.  That WE would know that He has experienced everything we have been through, and can completely understand.  Not only understand, but Jesus went through all he did here in his life without ever sinning, not even a bad thought. He was perfect so that he could save us.  God cares THAT much.  His own perfect Son was brutally mistreated.  He understands.

Funny thing is, that he could have stopped it all whenever he wanted. He could have given up.  But he didn’t. It was because of the joy set before him: us, that he persevered.  And I am so eternally grateful, because if he gave up, stopped, or made things “easier” for him, then he would not be able to understand.  He would not have conquered all the struggles and temptations, he would not have given us hope that there is a way out.  And in a way, it would be hard to prove that He really cared that much.  But instead, God went to the ultimate extreme to demonstrated the depths of love he has for us…

The word “caring” is really an understatment.

Hebrews 4:15 “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin.”

Hebrews 2:17 “For this reason he had to be made like them, fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. 18 Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.”

Hebrews 12:2 “For the joy setbefore him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

7 Comments

  1. fiona2107 said,

    January 1, 2011 at 7:01 AM

    Merry….that post was truly a masterpiece!

    You have once again given me inspiration.

    Thank you sincerely from one messed up work of art!

  2. fiona2107 said,

    January 1, 2011 at 7:12 AM

    Omgosh I spelt your name wrong!!!
    I think it was the silly auto correct.
    Eeek!!

  3. Merri Lewis said,

    January 1, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    Thank you Fi!!! Don’t worry about my name 🙂 Auto-correct often un-corrects me LOL!

  4. alienhippy said,

    January 1, 2011 at 1:02 PM

    At last….I am here to read your post. I have just had some wonderful prayer time in my conservatory and have jumped onto the computer as soon as it was free.
    Wonderful post Merri, I do enjoy reading your posts you really bring Jesus into the here and now for us.
    I just love Hebrews…I just love the NT…well, I just love the whole Bible really. It seems to be the only book I can read. Funny God is isn’t He.
    You know I learnt to read because I wanted to read the Bible. I was SO desperate to understand it for myself. It is perfectly laid out for my dyslexic mind. Mathematical columns, only a few words to each line, and numbers so I can see when I drop. Pretty amazing that is…don’t you think!
    I think you should get Dash his own easel and paints…there is just something so wonderful about squirting and mixing paint, I do it quite a lot. All my Art things are now moved to the conservatory. I spend a lot of time in my conservatory, it’s my space….where I can be me with God.
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx 🙂

  5. Merri Lewis said,

    January 1, 2011 at 2:21 PM

    I am so jealous for your conservatory and having your own space!!! I have the last 1/4 end of a table that I cleared off, wrapped (LOL) and declared Mommy-only-space! That is where my easel was 😦 Dash does have his own art kit, which he loves, but those tubes of paint were irresistible, I guess! The last time I gave him a tube of paint, he squeezed it so hard (without poking the foil to open the tube after the cap was off) the back end unwrapped and squirted all over our ceiling!!! That yellow splotch is still there 🙂 We do have some real neat pictures of our Michael Angelo painting in the backyard… I’ll have to post them sometime. Very cute 🙂

    That is funny about how the Bible is laid out…you are absolutely correct!!! May explain why my Dash loves to read the bible too 🙂 and doesn’t skip lines so much like he does in other books 🙂

  6. alienhippy said,

    January 1, 2011 at 2:53 PM

    Had to share this because both of my kids and me love doing this.
    If you get some kids poster paint and water it down a bit, you can fill water pistols with it. Then if you get a roll of lining paper at take it to a place where you don’t mind the mess…..it is SOOOOO much fun shooting paint and creating all sorts of mixes of colour and patterns.
    We do it in the garden when the weathers nice.
    Have fun Merri. xx 🙂

  7. Merri Lewis said,

    January 1, 2011 at 3:07 PM

    That’s awesome!!!


