Conquering the Rain!

A few weeks ago, I watched one of the most beautiful sights unfold before my eyes.

It was a dark and stormy night.  Well, not really, but it was a rainy afternoon, which in our house can turn into a dark and stormy night pretty quick!  If you are new to my blog, you can catch up on the rain posts here and here.

On this rainy afternoon though, Sketch blew me away… and it wasn’t even windy!  I had to meet him at the bus at the end of our long driveway.  So he had much farther to travel to get into the house, than when I was homeschooling him.  Plus, now I am expecting our fourth child (a surprise treasure from God, for sure!), and I simply am not able to carry him all the way in, as I had before.

So I spent a great deal of time trying to figure out how to make this work.  I decided to walk up to the bus with Sketch’s frog umbrella.  He loves that frog umbrella when it is dry, and he’s inside!  Not once has he used it in the rain. He always rejects it and while terrified of getting wet, he asks, “Carry?”.  So I thought if he saw me use it in the rain, he’d understand that it will keep him dry too.

When he stepped off the bus, he looked at the umbrella with a smile.  I handed it to him but he didn’t reach for it so I took his two hands and had him hold it.  When he seemed steady with it, I slowly released my hands.

Bigger Smile!

And he was soooo proud of himself!  He held it very tightly, and just seemed amazed at how it was keeping him dry.  He didn’t go in the house when we got to our door, he kept walking around in the backyard, cute as can be…soaking up his victory!

From our back window, this is what I saw:

Isn’t it beautiful?  There he is holding that umbrella as if it were the Flag, as if he were marching!  Maybe it was his victory march for conquering his rain fears 🙂  When I saw him walking around like that, tears came to my eyes…and granted, I am pregnant so maybe it was just the horrormones (as my friend, Kay, would call them), but really, what I was thinking about that made this picture so beautiful to me is what has happened to to get him to this place.

After the post Short, Sweet, and Silly was written, I had to take Sketch in the rain to OT.  He surprisingly didn’t object to leaving the house!  He didn’t want to get wet or deal with rain, but he didn’t let his fears stop him! (Lesson #1) and he asked to “Carry?” which I did.  He didn’t just have me simply carry him though.  When I picked him up, he wrapped his little long legs all around my waist and his little long arms all the way around my neck (almost twice!) and he clinged to me so tightly that I didn’t even have to hold him!  If I let go, he was just there, unbudged!  (Lesson #2)

The next time it rained, he did the same thing. Just accepted the rain and clung to me as if his life depended on it.

And the next time, it was a Sunday and we were at church.  Mr. Incredible got to carry him this time and I got to watch Sketch cling to him in the same adorable way.

It’s just intensely beautiful…because this is just what God wants us to do with our fears.  He does not want us to be held back by them, but to cling to Him through them!

Isaiah 41:10 says, “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Joshua 1:9 says, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

God must have been holding up Sketch under that umbrella, making the safety of His presence known to him.

And he’ll do it for you too!  Do not be afraid!  And as my favorite potty training card says, “You go girl!”

Merry Christmas everyone!

6 Comments

  1. alienhippy said,

    December 24, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    Thank you for this post Merri, I really enjoyed reading it. My Dad has 2 friends they are identical twins who both have Autism and they are terrified of the rain. It’s good that he likes his umbrella, I had a fascination for umbrellas as a child. I remember praying about them because I liked them so much. I don’t remember being afraid of the rain though just addicted to umbrellas…lol.
    My *AJ has always been afraid of water. Bathing him was a nightmare when he was little. I could never work out what the screaming was about. I literally had to grab him and get in with him kicking and screaming every night. Once we had the shower fitted and I showed him he could control where the water goes he was fine. I think he was nearly 7 though when we finally got a shower. I was pregnant with *CAL and desperate to find a way to stop him kicking and punching me.
    I love the scriptures you shared thank you. I sometimes read the first part of Joshua and change Joshua’s name for my own, it really convicts me. I haven’t done it for a while I might do that today.
    Have a lovely Christmas Merri.
    Love and hugs.
    Lisa. xx 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      December 26, 2010 at 5:15 PM

      You have a wonderful Christmas too Lisa! I guess i should say *hope you had* at this point 🙂 I don’t get it about the water sometimes. Sketch has always loved a bath…loves to splash, too. But gives major temper tantrums for getting his hair washed. I think he doesn’t like the trickling down part? We are finally getting past that now at 5 and 3/4s!!! He now asks for his hair to be washed because he wants cheetos 🙂 I rarely use food to bribe, esp since he’s so picky… but, I do for washing and cutting hair, and pooping in the potty 🙂 I love Joshua too! love love love it!

      • alienhippy said,

        December 26, 2010 at 5:37 PM

        Hi Merri,
        I think you’re right about the trickling down of the water. *AJ was terrible with his hair, I ended up shaving his head on a number 2 cut and washing his head with a flannel. My *CAL is still terrible with it at 10 years of age. She’s not like *AJ with the swimming, she loves going swimming, but she can’t cope if there are a lot of people there. Partly because she hates water being splashed in her face, but it is mainly to do with the noise. I must admit I find the noise at an indoor pool quite hard to cope with too.
        We had a lovely Christmas thanks. I have had the usual run ins with various family members but we kept ourselves at home mainly. I am so glad I haven’t got to go round anymore shops. As for January sales…I definitely will NOT be bothering with those…lol
        ***
        Of all the OT Prophets I have found myself relating to Jonah quite a lot. There is so much in that little book that speaks to me. It doesn’t matter how much I would love to be a Joshua, a David, a Joseph or a Ruth, I still find myself feeling comforted by Jonah. I guess they were all only humans chosen by God at the end of the day. But….I wonder if that is why I paint fishes all the time…lol
        Love and hugs.
        Lisa. xx 🙂

      • Merri Lewis said,

        December 26, 2010 at 11:35 PM

        Hey Lisa, For some reason wordpress won’t let me “reply” under your last comment, but I can here…weird! Anyway, funny you should mention the flannel for washing his hair. The only way I can get away with washing Sketch’s hair is with a washcloth and a very tiny bit of soap so the torture is over more quickly. With Dash, when he went through the hating hair washing stage, all I had to do was count the # of times I poured water over his head with the cup–and have the cup touch his head first so he felt it coming, and he was fine…. he never got THIS severe!

        I am so glad to be done shopping too…and wrapping, and unwrapping and collecting the trash and vacuuming up the styrofoam, etc.! Today was supposed to be boxing day, but we reclaimed our living room today from all the new stuff & mess…so I guess tomorrow will be the boxing day–that is, IF we don’t loose power from this blizzard we are having!!! It just started… up to 18 inches expected! Exciting, except for the potential loss of power part 😦

        You are too funny about painting fishes!!! HAH! Did you see the Veggie Tales version of Jonah? I love the music in that one. I like Jonah too…even w/o the VeggieTales 🙂 That is just one fascinating story with lots of nuggets in it 🙂

  2. Laurel said,

    December 26, 2010 at 10:35 AM

    It is interesting to read your posts and Lisa’s above and have an ‘aha’ moment as i see my son in your descriptions. When our Sketch was little we didn’t know he had autism, and bathing he was great…until one time daddy bathed him (a change in routine) and he went berserk. We never figured out what changed him to hate baths….but now that we know he has autism it all becomes very clear.

    • Merri Lewis said,

      December 26, 2010 at 5:17 PM

      Ooooh! Sketch does that if a book is read with different inflection, too 😦 Poor little guy!


