Autism with a Purpose

Chris & Tori

When the twins were around one year old, I remember sitting down and looking at them, amazed at how beautiful they were.  I remember thinking that they were perfect.  Perfectly the way God wanted them to be.

Psalm 139 13-16 (NIV)
13 For You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;[b]
Marvelous are Your works,
And that my soul knows very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from You,
When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
And in Your book they all were written,
The days fashioned for me,
When as yet there were none of them.

When I learned about Dash having autism, I was shocked. But God wasn’t, He knew the entire time.  When I saw my twins as “perfect”, autism was there even though I wasn’t aware of it yet.  But God knew, and even so, declared him good…crafted flawlessly with His unerring hands.  His ways are higher than ours. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:9

I used to hear a lot that people with disabilities, were here in this world for us to care for. It was unstated but assumed, that their purpose was mostly so that we could serve them.

I so under estimated them, and God.

Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.” (NLT)

It does not say that we are Gods masterpiece if

If we are free from disabilities.

If we are free from poverty.

If we are free from illness.

If…we are made the way society says we should be made. If we have no problems. No, we are all made in His image…all of us are His masterpiece, His work of art.  All of us were crafted with flawless hands, made with a purpose greater than we can ever imagine… Crafted with a purpose before our days began…made the way we are on purpose and for a purpose, according to His higher ways.

We were all made exactly the way He wanted us to be.

“I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature that I could think of; for to have been thought about, born in God’s thought, and then made by God, is the dearest, grandest, and more precious thing in all thinking.” George MacDonald

Autism or not, “neuro-typical” or not… God has incredible promises and purposes for us all.  None of us are perfect in the sense that we have all sinned, and we all live in a fallen world.  We all need a Savior. But God made us perfectly as He intended so we could fulfill all the good works that He prepared in advance for each one of us to do.

So rest in all God has done, all he has created and crafted, knowing it is in his ultimate wisdom and goodness…all a part of His plan.  Strive toward eternity with Him, being changed into His image, at His pace. God uses us while we are broken and crippled–either physically or emotionally, and does more than we could ever imagine!  (1 Cor 1:26-29 , Phil 3:14, Eph 3:20)

6 Comments

  1. Laurel said,

    June 16, 2010 at 7:30 AM

    I needed that this morning. Thank you for blessing me.

    • Merri Lewis said,

      June 16, 2010 at 7:34 AM

      You are more than welcome!

  2. June 16, 2010 at 8:24 AM

    Beautiful post. I’m going to be chewing on this all day. I often think of myself as unqualified to serve God or to be useful due to this or that limiting factor. Education, money, position, status, connections, looks, ability. . . lacking any or all of the above can make a person feel they have no purpose. Thank you for the scripture and the food for thought.

  3. Merri Lewis said,

    June 16, 2010 at 8:34 AM

    I am so honored to be used to encourage you! Never underestimate the power and love of God!

  4. Brenda McCurry said,

    June 16, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    Absolutely beautiful! 🙂

    • Merri Lewis said,

      June 16, 2010 at 11:20 AM

      Thank you Brenda :0)


