What would you do for a Klondike Bar?

Remember that commercial where people would ask strangers what they would do for a Klondike bar and then the person would do insane things for it?  Now whenever I think of Klondike Bars, I immediately see a man in a business suit jumping around making monkey sounds!

Sometimes I feel a bit like I’m in that commercial (true confessions, I know!) when dealing with the boys.  You would not believe some of the things we’ve done to help Chris become engaged when he was off in his own little world.  One of the things he used to do when he was really little was put Baby Einstein puppets on his feet, lay on his back and dangle the puppets over his face (way cute!) so I would lay down next to him and do the same thing!   Or, there is the time he was dangling different colored strings in front of his eyes, totally oblivious to anything but the strings, and so I’d put my face right up to them and look through them directly at his eyes!  He’d laugh and start doing something else.  And, there are the many times that he’d line things up in just the right way and stare at it from all different angles, and so I’d remove a piece when he wasn’t paying attention and either put myself in it’s place or another object to get his attention.  Sometimes were harder than others.  I remember one time when he was having a very withdrawn summer, and we could not get him engaged.  We ended up putting him inside a big tub of beans, and then pouring the beans over him and rubbing them over his arms and legs.  Slowly he started to respond and “came out of it”.

Robbie on the other hand never really got into lining things up stuff, but he gets “lost” in scripting lines from his favorite shows.  He’ll run back and forth quoting all the lines and signing to himself.  Sometimes when he does this I will follow him and imitate what he does.  Eventually he thinks I’m acting funny and will stop and acknowledge me.  He is really fun to get right in his face while he’s signing/scripting and smile right at him and stare.  He can’t resist that!

So I just can’t help but notice the parallel between us as parents, doing everything we can think of to pull our kids out of that unengaged, withdrawn state, and bring them to interact with us, with all the things God has done to get our attention and become engaged with him!

We attempt to enter the world of our kids, in order to pull them out.  God did enter our world by sending Jesus, and He saved us!  And God has entered our world many times in many ways throughout the Bible as well as throughout the current times.  One of my favorite Psalms is about how God entered the world to save us is Psalm 18:

6 In my distress I called to the LORD;
I cried to my God for help.
From his temple he heard my voice;
my cry came before him, into his ears.

7 The earth trembled and quaked,
and the foundations of the mountains shook;
they trembled because he was angry.

8 Smoke rose from his nostrils;
consuming fire came from his mouth,
burning coals blazed out of it.

9 He parted the heavens and came down;
dark clouds were under his feet.

10 He mounted the cherubim and flew;
he soared on the wings of the wind.

11 He made darkness his covering, his canopy around him—
the dark rain clouds of the sky.

12 Out of the brightness of his presence clouds advanced,
with hailstones and bolts of lightning.

13 The LORD thundered from heaven;
the voice of the Most High resounded. [a]

14 He shot his arrows and scattered the enemies ,
great bolts of lightning and routed them.

15 The valleys of the sea were exposed
and the foundations of the earth laid bare
at your rebuke, O LORD,
at the blast of breath from your nostrils.

16 He reached down from on high and took hold of me;
he drew me out of deep waters.

17 He rescued me from my powerful enemy,
from my foes, who were too strong for me.

18 They confronted me in the day of my disaster,
but the LORD was my support.

19 He brought me out into a spacious place;
he rescued me because he delighted in me.

Because He delights in me.  There are many more places in scripture where God tells us He delights in us. Just as our passion for our children drives us to do unusual things to engage them,  it is His passion for us, His children, that he has gone to such great lengths to rescue us, to gain our attention, have a relationship with us…to engage us.

2 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    April 26, 2010 at 6:40 AM

    Wow!! You arfe so right. Sometimes it is something so major it changes your life-othertimes it is small like an amazing sunset or a wild momma turkey flashing her tail in the middle of the highway so her family can pass!!

    • Merri said,

      April 26, 2010 at 8:32 PM

      I just love it when it is something funny like the turkeys :0)


