Turning It Around

Sometimes things get a bit out of control…

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

Did I mention that sometimes things get a bit out of control?

Ok, maybe it would be more accurate to say that often things are very much out of control at our house!  It is during those times that I find it most difficult to make my thoughts line up with what God says is true–to see things through His eyes.  It is during those times, that we need to have already put on the full armor of God  (Ephesians 6), and most often I have not.

When I was doing the Beth Moore Bible study on the book of Esther, Beth had us write down some statements that the world would have a believe on an index card, and then on the other side write the truth–the Bible verse that tells how things really are.  This way you can literally pull out the card when you are in that crisis and turn it around to tell the truth–to make it obedient to Christ.

So for this post, I wanted to list some of the thoughts and lies, or flaming arrows, that are thrown by the enemy to destroy us, and turn it around with the belt of truth and sword of the Spirit- a verse in the Bible that we can cling to when we are caught off guard.  I encourage you, and myself too, to write out the ones that apply right now, or search for others if your “flaming arrow” isn’t listed here, and be prepared (have your shoes on!) to turn it around!

“This is too much! I can’t handle it!”

Phillippians 4:13 “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”

2 Corinthians 9:8 “And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.”

2 Thess 2:16-17  16May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, 17encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word.”

Isaiah 40:31  “but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

“The kids are totally out of control!”

Phillippians 4:13 “I can do everything through him who gives me strength.”

Psalm 46:1 “1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.”

Psalms 24:1 “The earth is the Lord’s, and all its fullness, The world and those who dwell therein.”

Hebrews 1:3 “The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.”

Hebrews 2:7-8 “…you crowned him with glory and honor and put everything under his feet. In putting everything under him, God left nothing that is not subject to him.”

“I need more help!”

Hebrews 13:6 “So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.”

Phillippians 4:19 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

Genesis 49:25“25 because of your father’s God, who helps you, because of the Almighty, [b] who blesses you with blessings of the heavens above, blessings of the deep that lies below, blessings of the breast and womb.”

2 Corinthians 12:9 “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

“What is going to happen in the future?”

Jeremiah 29:11-14 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity.”

Ephesians 3:19-21  20Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

“We can’t afford all the extra ____”

Matthew 6:25-26 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear.  Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not much more valuable than they?”

Phillippians 4:19 “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”

“How will they be able to understand about God?”

Psalm 139: 13-16

“13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.”

Psalm 8:2

“From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise”

“Someone is going to get hurt or go missing!”

Psalm 34:7 “ 7 The angel of the LORD encamps around those who fear him,
and he delivers them.”

Exodus 23:20 20 “See, I am sending an angel ahead of you to guard you along the way and to bring you to the place I have prepared.

Genesis 16:13 “13 She gave this name to the LORD who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen [b] the One who sees me.”

1 Samuel 2:3 “for the LORD is a God who knows”

2 Samuel 14:20 “Your servant Joab did this to change the present situation. My lord has wisdom like that of an angel of God—he knows everything that happens in the land.”

Psalm 139

“2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
you perceive my thoughts from afar.

3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
you are familiar with all my ways.”

Hebrews 4:13 “Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight.”

“I am not prepared for this–I have no idea what I’m doing!”

Col  1:10-12 10And we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and may please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God, 11being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and joyfully 12giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you[a] to share in the inheritance of the saints in the kingdom of light.

Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

Esther 4:14b “And who knows but that you have come to royal position for such a time as this?”

“I feel all alone, trying figure this out!”

Phillippians 2:1313for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.”

Isaiah 46:16 “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.”

Isaiah 30:21 “Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Deut 31:8 8 The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

Psalm 139

“7 Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?

8 If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths,
[a] you are there.

9 If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
if I settle on the far side of the sea,

10 even there your hand will guide me,
your right hand will hold me fast.”


