Robbie painting my face

Psalm 30: 1-12 (HCSB) Personalized

In our Bible Study called Deeper Still, Beth Moore encourages us to re-write Psalm 30 with the key parts of how David felt, personalized to our stories and our feelings.  In regards to feeling the loss we often feel when we first discover our child has autism and probably won’t fulfill all those dreams new parents have (but aren’t even aware of it), I re-wrote this Psalm as my own prayer to God.  I hope it encourages any of you out there who are struggling now with this.

“I will exalt You, Lord, because You have been with me in trials and have not allowed me to go unchanged.

Lord my God, I cried to You for help, and You quickly rescued me.

Lord, You brought me from mourning all my losses; You spared me from myself, and from my enemies, and from what I believed best for me.

Sing to the Lord, you His faithful ones, and praises His holy name.

For His heavy hand lasts only a moment, but His favor, a lifetime.  Weeping may spend the night, but there is joy in the morning.

When I was secure, I said, “Nothing can take this joy from me.”

Lord when You showed Your favor, You made me confidently trust you; when You seemed to be nowhere, I was terrified.

Lord, I called to You; I sought favor from my Lord:

“What gain is there in leaving me to my ruin?

Lord, listen and be gracious to me;  Lord, be my helper.”

You turned my losses into gains; You removed my despair and clothed me with expectation,

So that I can sing to You and not be silent. Lord my God, I will praise You forever.”

Even if you are struggling this very day, I encourage you too, to re-write this psalm, (or another if it is more fitting) with your own story and see where God has been in it, and imagine how far He will take you. For He loves you with a holy, fiery, passionate love and would go to any depths to rescue you!

