Embracing Autism

Selling everything to embrace Gods’ will…I hadn’t thought about it this way before reading and pondering an email devotional from Joni and Friends.  The devotional was based on  Matthew 13:44 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.”   But this rang so true:  to embrace autism is to sell everything–everything we’d thought life with children would be like so we could take those “funds” and purchase the ones God gave us.  It is to find a treasure in the unlikely form of tragedy.  Once God revealed the awe-inspiring treasure of our children (with and without autism) it was not as difficult to give up “how things should be” to embrace the way things are.  The treasure was in a field of disabilities and mountains that seemed too large to climb with our out-of-shape legs that had little practice at parenting. But through prayers and time with God, studying His Word and relying on His promises, we are climbing the mountains we thought we wanted God to remove.   It certainly seems like life would be so much easier if God would have removed the mountains of autism, but if he had, I wouldn’t have needed to cling to him or listen so closely to his voice of guidance and comfort…I wouldn’t have known Him as deeply as I do today.  So, as Joni said in her devotional, I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  God’s will is perfect and loving and He desires the best for His children…and he is never done giving…never done revealing even more treasures and gifts to us.  Jeremiah 29:11-14 “1 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD, “and will bring you back from captivity.”

3 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    February 22, 2010 at 11:42 AM

    Amen!! Not just autism but so many ways that kids today have learning styles are outside the box. Having taught my last yr in as a LD teacher in the public schools, I saw how each of the children I worked w/ had desecrated self esteems. The older boys tried to be tough-well you know where that leads to.

    I am so thankful to be able to teach my children in love and encouragement, pushing them to their max and seeing them grow in a loving home environment.

  2. Nancy said,

    February 26, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    Amen. We are called to sacrifice all our hopes and dreams and leave them there.

    “I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.”

  3. March 2, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    I understand why she some feel that autism is a gift, but I doubt they felt that way growing up, and I doubt that all of the parents who have autistic children at the other of the spectrum feel that way. It’s a gift only when one makes it into one. A good lesson that to learn is not to be so hasty to give up on a child at such a young age. It seems like doctors categorize autistic children very young, and that sets the tone for the rest of their lives. As far as we’ve come, there is still much that medical science does not understand and cannot explain about autistic children, or many other things for that matter.


