Established…for the sake of His people

Established. What a word! “And David realized that the LORD had established him as king over Israel, and that his kingdom was highly exalted for the sake of His people Israel” I Chron 14:2

I am currently in a Bible Study at Church called, “Annointed, Transformed, Redeemed: A study of David”. By Pricilla Shirer, Beth Moore, and Kay Arthur. In this study, they define the root of this word as “to bring something into being with the consequence that it’s existence is a certainty.” The word established means that “He set things securely in order and prepares them for the specified purpose.”

Just as God established David as king at exactly the right moment, He has also established us as parents of children with autism at such a time as this. And David wasn’t suddenly zapped one day and ruled Israel from then on….he had a very long wait while God prepared him. He waited for 22 years! David was being prepared during that time, and when the time was perfect, God established him as king.

In the same way, I wasn’t zapped into being a mom of kids with autism either. But God set things securely in order and prepared me for this purpose. God set in my heart a love and curiosity for people with disabilities at a very young age. Helen Keller was my hero in junior high, and Joni Eareckson Tada in high school. I saw a movie in high school about a boy with autism, and was totally intrigued by this disorder. In college I started working in group homes for people with mental health issues and developmental disabilities. After college I worked with people with disabilities in their family environment. I worked with many on the autism spectrum! Little did I know what God was preparing me for during this time!

I remember clearly the day that I “knew” that Chris had autism. I saw many red flags and did some research on-line. Chris was just two and a half at the time. Everything within me cried, “NO!” and I cried out to God that night, “Please do not let this be true!” Tears streaming down my face. The tears came even more heavily as I clearly heard God reply, “Merri, I have prepared you for this!” And He had. More than any one I knew at the time, God had prepared me. I am so grateful for that! I had worked with people with disabilities for 13 years! It was not what I wanted, but God has a purpose in this, for the sake of His people!

When my youngest boy was showing the signs of autism too, again I had an arguments with God. He promised not to give me more than I could handle! How could he do this to me? Oh, we had quite the wrestling over this for many months! Then one day he showed me how I have His promises to rely on. “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength” Phil 4:13 It isn’t my strength. It is Gods’ strength, and His is unlimited! He promises to help me and come along side me to show me what to do! But, If it is this hard for me, who has the Father, Son and Holy Spirit…how on earth are people who don’t know Him handling this? Where is the hope? I decided at that time, that if God didn’t heal Robbie of autism…or prevent it from happening, that it would be ok. If the reason is to bring Him more glory, to be a light of hope for those who don’t yet know the Hope of Jesus, then it would be worth it! God can move the mountain of autism. But if He doesn’t, then he must have a really good reason for it! He has a plan “for the sake of His people”.

For the sake of His people… I have many thoughts on this topic as well, that I’ll write about at a later time, but I just want to mention here real quickly that if we take a close look at autism and the struggles we have engaging kids with autism at times, and compare that to how God must feel about us as His children at times, it makes quite a statement. I think the crisis of ASD’s is partly a wake-up call. We’re all on the spectrum somewhere. In our relationship to God how engaged are we? Do we answer when He calls our name?

1 Comment

  1. Debbie said,

    March 9, 2010 at 7:12 AM

    That is so awesome that he prepared you ahead of time. I too had worked in so many different capacities w/ learning challenged people.
    The main thing I think it has helped me be super patient, resourceful-I kept searching for the right curriculum to help my 2 with their reading-and have unconditional love. Understanding how hard it is for them and to loving encourage them to do their best everyday, that you have the confidence in them that they can do it.


