Empower Me

Empower me Oh Holy God
To run the race, the one You called
To forget the past and evil sins
To look on the finish line
Where life begins

Empower me
While running this race
To go full force ahead
And to rest in your grace
To keep my eyes focused
Always on the goal
To win the greatest prize
The one more precious than gold

Empower me to train and gain
All the wisdom for running the race
To jump all the hurdles
And to run at Your pace
To strive and strain everyday
To live and think and learn and love
To serve You…Holy God!
And win the prize you’ve set above

Empower me Oh Holy God!

I wrote this years ago in a completely different set of circumstances, but this prayer still applies today–There is no other way to live this life than with the Power of God and the rest and wisdom only He can give as we face daily challenges.

