Philippians 4:8

” And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” (NLT)

This is a good note to end on for the day, I’d say!  And, a good theme for the purpose of this blog.  So much is written and believed about autism that is negative, ugly, and just plain not true.  I hope to bring the lovely and admirable side of the spectrum out in this blog.  For example, tonight my little Robbie (age 4) was so overly excited and happy that I was putting him to bed instead of Dan.  Usually, Dan would have that job but now he as chosen me to do it.  He was jumping for joy in my arms and doing this cute intense love-look “stim” he does while staring closely in my eyes while simultaneously doing his version of “flapping”.  The emotions in that little guy are just too big to be contained in a 4 year old body.  (Maybe that is why he’s so tall?)  The beauty of this that he directed that intensity of positive emotions to me!  I don’t think that most parents get to ever experience such intensity.  It is just a little gimpse of the love the Savior has for us, that would cause Him to rejoice over us with singing (Zeph 3:17).

1 Comment

  1. merrilewis said,

    July 10, 2009 at 10:20 AM

    Well, it occurred to me yesterday that maybe…just maybe, Robbie was staring so closely in my eyes because I have glasses and he could see his reflection in them! Oh well, I’ll still take it as a compliment!


